Research Rookies 2015-2016

The End of Another Great Year

I have finally made it to the end of yet another wonderful year of research with the Research Rookies Program. URAD the other day was amazing, and I loved having the opportunity to share about my research to everyone that was there. One of my highlights was being able to visit other people’s posters and listen to the research that they did. It is always encouraging and motivating to hear about the great things others are doing in their respective fields of study. URAD is always a time of celebration of research and artistry while also keeping a focus on future directions.

I still can’t believe it’s been 2 years since I first came to NIU and joined the Research Rookies Program. Words cannot describe how grateful I am to Research Rookies for providing me with unparalleled opportunities to engage in research and develop both my leadership and professional skills. I learned a lot both as a first-year rookie and now a peer mentor. I’ve had a wonderful year with the best possible mentees I could ever ask for. Ryan, Nickie, and Fahad – You guys are the best, and I hope that you all go on to do amazing things. I also want to thank Dr. Zinger for helping me through my research during the entire year even with the busy schedule he has had to deal with. As I retire from Research Rookies, I will continue to look forward to the upbringing of new peer mentors to take my place and the continuation of my research experience for the coming years. Thank you to everyone for an amazing year! I look forward to the wonderful things to come.

Standard

Leave a Reply

