McKearn Fellowship Program 2015-2016

Mentoring

During my time in high school, I was fortunate enough to be a part of a FIRST Robotics Team. As part of our learning experience, the faculty sponsors were able to acquire the assistance of engineering professionals in the industry to come and mentor us through the robotics development process. One of those mentors, Mr. Ian Ren, was a software engineer working for Navistar. Having had his son go through the FIRST Robotics Team experience, he enjoyed mentoring us because he wanted us to develop the necessary skills to go out and do great things. I learned a lot about developing intuitive and efficient algorithms that would enable the robot to perform a variety of tasks. I also became aware of the fact that one should assume nothing works unless it has been tested multiple times. It was because of Mr. Ren’s careful guidance that I chose to major in Electrical & Computer Engineering where I can learn all about the electrical and software processes that are required for successful development of robots.

Thank you Mr. Ren for helping me get to where I am today. I hope to someday mentor students myself and provide them with the same great experience you provided me.

Standard

Leave a Reply

