McKearn Fellowship Program 2015-2016

Cultural Immersion

As an Asian American with a Chinese/Taiwanese background, I have had extensive immersion in the Chinese/Taiwanese culture. Since I was little, I went to Chinese School on the weekend to learn more about the Chinese language and culture. One of the best experiences I had in Chinese School was when I had the opportunity to participate in the annual dragon dance. This was a difficult dance to do because it involved an immense amount of coordination between the head and tail portions of the dragon. It took about a month of training to become ready to dance at the festival. As the person controlling the head, I got to “eat” all of the money that was given to me through the dragon’s mouth. It was a very rewarding experience for me, and I got to learn about the Dragon Dance Festival through real hands-on experience. I believe that it is important to learn about different cultures so that I can have information on how to interact with other professionals. We all come from different backgrounds, so it is inherent that we be culturally aware to prevent any misunderstandings or mistreatment of others.

Standard

Leave a Reply

