Research Rookies 2015-2016

November Progress

It seems that I have been hitting many obstacles lately when it comes to figuring out how to get my energy storage model working. Thankfully I had already accounted for this in my proposal and am taking my time in learning what problems are occurring and what equations will be needed to solve these problems. It is for this reason that I see no need to revise my proposal. I enjoy learning alongside Dr. Zinger about a topic that both of us are unfamiliar with. I believe that both of us will come out of this project with a better understanding of how the PHES system will work realistically.

My experience this year has been kind of different in that I find that I already know about what I should and shouldn’t be doing. I find that I am seeking answers to questions a lot less and giving out answers a lot more. It is just unbelievable that I have made it this far through research and am still finding many new and interesting things. It is also very different being a small group leader this year because of the shift in focus from just thinking about what I have to do to what does each of my group members need. I was very fortunate to get an amazing group of first-year rookies each with their own unique personalities and interests. I definitely enjoy showing them the ropes as they begin their research journey. The only challenging part is managing my time between being a peer mentor and being a student/participant in multiple other activities. However, I believe that successful completion of my duties as a peer mentor will undoubtedly enhance my leadership skills. I look forward to seeing how far my group has come at the reception on November 30th.

Standard

Leave a Reply

