Research Rookies 2014-2015

The Conclusion

It has been an amazing experience getting to do undergraduate research as a freshman. I am so thankful for the Research Rookies Program, Dr. Hashemian, and the Department of Electrical Engineering in the College of Engineering & Engineering Technology for providing the resources that I needed in order to learn about research and experience the process of seeing a research project through to the end. Having to create a poster for Undergraduate Research & Artistry Day (URAD) has definitely helped me to summarize my research experience. The poster design process made me think a lot about how to keep things neat, concise, and interesting. I found that adding lots of images helped to make my poster look much more appealing than just a wall of words. As URAD comes around the corner, I’m feeling a little nervous about presenting to so many people visiting the event. I know that I have a lot of trouble trying to explain concepts using non-technical terms, so I’ve been practicing explanations on my own. I am excited to be able to share my research and at the same time see other types of research projects that could be the inspiration for another research project down the road. I have really enjoyed being able to interact with Dr. Hashemian and learning all sorts of interesting things from him outside of the classroom. This will make taking a class taught by him even more interesting. Participating in Research Rookies has really allowed me to develop professionally and academically giving me a brand new outlook on the path I walk as an Electrical and Computer Engineer. I now see myself moving on to work in the space industry developing robots to go and explore space.

The next steps I plan to take now that Research Rookies is coming to a close is to continue to look for research opportunities. This summer, I have the honor of participating in the McKearn Summer Research Program where I will continue to undertake faculty-mentored research on my new project consisting of looking at a pumped heat energy storage system. Since I have just begun my journey into the world of Electrical and Computer Engineering, my interests are still kind of broad, but I’m slowly beginning to narrow them as I try new things. Depending on my schedule for next semester, I might be coming back to Research Rookies as a peer mentor to try and pass on my knowledge from this year to next year’s cohort and help them get the most out of their research experience.

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

