Research Rookies 2014-2015

First Task: Finding a Research Mentor

This week, I’ve been actively searching for professors with research projects that are of interest to me. This is the first time I’ve done anything related to research or interacting with college professors so I felt a little nervous going into this week. However, I feel that it will be a very rewarding experience.

On Monday, September 8th, I met with Dr. Veysel Demir to talk about his research in computational electromagnetics. He informed me that if I were to be working with him, I’d be learning how to use differential equations to simulate the flow of electromagnetivity through different mediums. The simulation would also be done using a programming development tool called MATLAB. Although my knowledge may not be sufficient enough, I am excited to be learning about this and potentially work with Dr. Demir on this research project.

On Wednesday, September 10th,  I met with Dr. Peng-Yung Woo to learn more about his robotics research as that was something that is of great interest to me. He is very experienced in what he does having worked at NIU for 26 years. Although our interests may be similar, I don’t think I’ll be a very good asset to have for someone who works with graduate students rather than undergraduates.

This upcoming Tuesday, September 16th, I shall meet with Dr. Reza Hashemian to learn more about his research in computer arithmetic, analog circuit design, and code compression. All of this sounds really interesting to me, especially with the computer and coding since I know a bit of software programming myself.

To get a few more views on potential professors I’d like to research with, I’ve decided to include Dr. Donald Zinger and Dr. Lichuan Liu to check out their research in electronics/power control and wireless signals.

Progress is coming along smoothly, and hopefully by the end of next week, I’ll have a professor in mind that I’d like to work with.

Standard

2 thoughts on “First Task: Finding a Research Mentor

  1. I am very impressed to hear that you are taking the time to meet with many professors and taking the time to gather information before you jump into the research. Having done research before I can tell you it is well worth it. They all sound like great options as well! Let me know which mentor you pick.
    Best Wishes,
    Colin Fritz

    Like

  2. Megan Geyer says:

    Hi Jayson. It sounds like you’re off to a great start! You’re right that it’s important to find a good fit. Wishing you the best in your search. Looking forward to meeting you at Monday’s meeting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

